January 10, 2024

5 to join Texas Produce Hall of Fame

The Texas International Produce Association (TIPA) will induct five new members into the Texas Produce Hall of Fame.

Scheduled for January 29 at the Mission Events Center in Mission, Texas, the event recognizes outstanding leaders who have significantly contributed to the betterment of the produce industry in Texas, according to a news release.

The 2024 inductees are:

  • James Bassetti, Little Bear Produce
  • Frank Schuster, Val Verde Vegetable Co.
  • Bruce Frasier, Dixondale Farms
  • Bernie Thiel, Sunburst Farms
  • Danny Arnold, AW Produce (Posthumous)

Renowned for his decades-long dedication to excellence and innovation in the produce industry, Bassetti is a well-respected figure whose contributions have left a lasting impact, according to the release.

Schuster is a leader in quality and a driving force behind the success of Val Verde Vegetable. Schuster’s commitment to excellence has set a benchmark for others in the industry, according to the release.

Frasier is honored for his tireless efforts in advancing the onion industry. His leadership and commitment to positive change have made a significant mark on the agricultural landscape, according to the release.

Thiel is recognized for his outstanding contributions to the produce community. His commitment to sustainable farming practices and community engagement has made him a respected and influential figure, according to the release.

In remembrance of his contributions to the industry, Arnold will be honored posthumously.

Additionally, Jim Henderson of Jim Henderson Co. will be receiving the Scott Toothaker Award for his dedication and service as a partner to the industry. The Scott Toothaker Award, established in 1989, honors the contributions of individuals not directly involved in production agriculture.

The Hall of Fame induction ceremony has been held every other year by TIPA for the last 36 years. The banquet also serves as a fundraiser for the William E. Weeks Agricultural Scholarship, established to encourage future generations of specialty crop agriculture producers.


Be sure to check out our other specialty agriculture brands

Organic Grower