August 30, 2023

IFPA names new members to 2024 board

The International Fresh Produce Association has chosen new directors and officers for its 2024 board of directors. The group will begin its board service at the 2023 Global Fresh Produce & Floral Show Oct. 19-21 in Anaheim, California.

The board is guided by the executive committee, which will be led in 2024 by current chair-elect John Anderson, who is chair, CEO and managing partner of Oppy. Current board chair Laura Himes, vice president of Sourcing – Fresh for Walmart, will assume the role of past chair.

“I’ve served on many industry volunteer leadership groups over the years, and this is, by far, one of the most diverse and wide-ranging boards I have ever had the pleasure of working with,” Anderson said in a news release. “In order to grow IFPA members’ prosperity and move toward creating a vibrant future for all, it requires diversity of thought and representation.

“The incoming board will be a near 50-50 balance between male and female leadership and has a worldwide footprint in terms of companies that are U.S.-based, U.S.-based with global operations, and those who are based entirely outside the U.S.”

Joining the executive committee are:

  • 2024 chair-elect Tammy DeBoer, president of Harris Teeter
  • Secretary-treasurer Clint Lewis, CEO of AgroFresh Solutions Inc.
  • At large members Judy Clark, current Fresh-Cut Processor Council chair and CEO of Fresh Texas; and Patrick Vizzone, retiring secretary-treasurer and managing director and head of Agri-Food and Impact Investment for Franklin Templeton Global Private Equity.
  • IFPA Foundation for Fresh Produce chair Alex DiNovo, president and chief operating officer of DiNovo Produce. Hilton will serve as a director.

“I cannot wait to tackle the big issues facing our member community with this group. I greatly appreciate the contributions of the Leadership Development Committee, led by current Past Chair Bruce Taylor, for their diligence in collaborating with the Board to develop the ballot and slate,” Anderson added.

The 2024 board:

  • Brazil Council chair Alex Lee, commercial director, Rio Bonito Orgânicos, São Paulo, Brazil
  • Grower-Shipper Council chair Mark Campion, president, Taylor Farms Retail, Salinas, California
  • Foodservice Council chair Chip Walker, president and CEO, SSi LLC/PRO*ACT, Monterey, California
  • Mexico Council chair Adelina Metodieva, CEO, Zeliotech Mineral Fertilizers, Cuernevaca, Mexico
  • Supply Chain Council chair Steve Alaerts, director, Foodcareplus NV, Antwerp, Belgium
  • Sustainability Council chair Rachel Depree, Head of Sustainability, Zespri, Mount Maunganui, New Zealand

At large representatives:

  • Tim Bulow, president and COO, Mission Produce, Oxnard, California
  • Hein Deprez, co-CEO, Greenyard, Sint-Katelijne-Waver, Belgium
  • Elliott Grant, CEO, Mineral, Mountain View, California
  • Lam Lin, Group Strategy lead, Joy Wing Mau Group, Shenzen, China
  • Anna Lopez, vice president of Produce, H-E-B Grocery, San Antonio, Texas
  • Ruth McLennan, chief merchant Cold Storage, The DFI Group, Singapore
  • Bas Pellenaars, commercial director LATAM, Dümmen Orange, Miami, Florida
  • Oleen Smethurst, vice president of produce, Loblaw, Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
  • Rodolfo Spielmann, president and CEO, NatureSweet, San Antonio, Texas

Be sure to check out our other specialty agriculture brands

Organic Grower