January 22, 2024

IFPA Foundation for Fresh Produce names 2024 board

The International Fresh Produce Association’s Foundation for Fresh Produce has named its 2024 board members, including chair Alex DiNovo of DNO Produce.

The foundation aims to improve global health by increasing the appeal of fruit and vegetables, supporting the development of infrastructure and supply chain and establishing strategic alliances that enable children and families to form healthier eating habits.

“As I step into the role of chair for the IFPA Foundation for Fresh Produce, I am honored and excited about the opportunity to champion global health through the promotion of fresh fruits and vegetables,” DiNovo said in a news release. “The mission to address nutrition insecurity is profoundly meaningful to me, both as a father of seven and as the leader of my family produce business.”

Martha Hilton, 2023 chair and vice president of produce and floral at Wegmans, retires as chair and will continue to serve on the board for one year.

“Having the opportunity to be the inaugural chair of the IFPA Foundation for Fresh Produce was an incredible experience,” Hilton said. “The mission of the foundation to change the trajectory of human health is one that I am personally passionate about and know that we can have a profound impact on. As the chair it was amazing to see how we were able to lay the groundwork for where we want the board to go in the future and really start to see the hard work pay off.”

2024 new and returning directors are:

  • Alex DiNovo, DNO Produce, chair.
  • Dwight Ferguson, California Agricultural Leadership Foundation, chair elect.
  • Martha Hilton, Wegmans, immediate past chair.
  • John Oxford, L&M, secretary/treasurer.

At-large board members are:

  • CarrieAnn Arias.
  • Inci Dannenberg, Bayer.
  • Nikki Ford, Hass Avocado Board.
  • William Goldfield, Dole Food Co.
  • Eileen Hyde, Walmart.
  • Jason Osborn, The Wonderful Co.

Seven retiring board members are:

  • Manuel Alcaino, Decofrut.
  • Fernando Herrara.
  • Jenny Maloney, Bayer.

Be sure to check out our other specialty agriculture brands

Organic Grower